10 years in 10 lines

Arpit Goyal
3 min readMay 19, 2021

--

2011–2021, my first experience of living on my own, decade in which I graduated, found my first job and somewhere somehow myself, maybe.

It’s 6:42 AM of 24th Dec 2020(listening to “Dil toh bacha hai ji”) trying to do this for more than an hour today and more than a year in totality.
I have had a draft from 2019, and how insane it is that half of things it had does not even matter anymore, so here’s my new try.

My college buddies Saleem and Abhilash are in the other room sleeping and I’m in the other room writing this(with some music on in background)

They are visiting me for this holiday season, all 3 of us are together after 2017, our glorious days in Mumbai where the life was different, very different but that is a story for some other time.

When we three sit together we talk about big things, but we more importantly talk about small things like the dreams we had, things we did, future, and goals.

There’s something with old friends, even though everything has changed, everything feels like a comforting constant, like nothing has ever changed and you forget everything(sadly, the medicines you were supposed to take too).

After school, you’re going to face a lot of times when you’ll be confused and lost. But during those times you should come home and talk to your old friends. Because while everything around you is changing and you will be happy to know that there are a few things that remain constant and it’s important because these constants are comforting. — little things, S02 E01

Our conversations made me think how lucky I have been to be able to move on from all the bad things and all the things I’m thankful for.

Here’s the biggest thing I’m thankful for: last year, I wrote an article about my small world, the big things which were going in it, and how I was trying to deal with them. I got a lot of support and love in return, So, I wanted to say a BIG Thank You for all of that.

A little recap, if you’d like:

Update:

Maa is doing alright now, she has to take medicines daily for her situation. Dada and daadi couldn’t live away from each other for long, dadaji also joined her in eternal, beautiful, promised land. I am still mostly happy with my job; still strong on plastic-free, less oil/sugar healty-ish lifestyle; still single :P

The 10 lines I promised:

  • 7 cities and always [feeling] at home ❤ (Ajmer, Kota, Bilaspur, Bangalore, Pune, Mumbai, and Jaipur)
  • Graduation, internships, and jobs full to amazing mentors, managers and a fulfilling work life :)
  • Engineer to UX researcher to now Product Manager, many roles but one true love for creating products.
  • Love. Disappoint. Fight. Break up. ̶M̶i̶s̶s̶ ̶e̶a̶c̶h̶ ̶o̶t̶h̶e̶r̶.̶ ̶G̶e̶t̶ ̶b̶a̶c̶k̶ ̶t̶o̶g̶e̶t̶h̶e̶r̶.̶ ̶R̶e̶p̶e̶a̶t̶. 1 love story and lots of lorem ipsum.
  • A worldwide pandemic and other bigger problems taught nothing is permanent and to be taken for granted.
  • 200+ plants, 2 cycles, that whole environmentalism thing and many more hobbies yet to explore, a hobby a day keeps the doldrums away.
  • While all the bad things were going on, I did not need money, advise or anything except for to be able to share, one can always lend an ear.
  • Already have a name for my future dog, but no pet yet :(
  • I have realised I suck at staying in touch, there are people I talk about every other day and have not talked to in months, still working on it.
  • Looking forward to new chapters of life, open arms and with optimism ✌️

A little recap:

To Mumbai, Jaipur, family, friends, whiskey and you; ILY ❤

--

--

Arpit Goyal

Techie, Designer, Gardner :) Product manager in Healthcare space